How to find out if your data has been shared at Cambridge Analytica

Facebook informs users about Cambridge Analytica.

Facebook has started to notify the approximately 87 million of users whose data was compiled by the electoral consultant Cambridge Analytica.

The social network eventually expects to inform each user that it was affected with a warning at the top of their Facebook news source. For now, however, people can verify by going to a new help page on the site or looking for "how do I know if my information was shared with Cambridge Analytica?" In the Facebook Help Center.

Most users will see a message that says according to our records, neither you nor your friends you started away session in "This Is Your Digital Life"., the personality questionnaire that Cambridge Analytica used to collect the data.

About 87 million people, including more than 100,000 people in Spain, will receive a different answer that says "a friend of yours connected." That means that their public profile, the "like" of the page, the birthday and the current city were probably shared with the company, as well as the contents of their news at the time.

Facebook will notify those who installed Thisisyourdigitallife

Some people will receive a informing message that installed this Is Your Digital Life application. This means that they almost certainly delivered the personal information of all their Facebook friends at that time, and were part of the core group for the psychometric profile that Cambridge Analytica conducted during the US election campaign. usa.

Facebook has promised widespread changes in its platform to avoid further "abuse" of the type attributed to Cambridge Analytica. "These actions would prevent any application from being able to access so much data today," the company said in March.

Facebook was sanctioned in Spain

In March this year, Facebook Spain was sanctioned with WHATSAPP with 600,000 (300,000 euros each) for treating and communicating data without the consent of users, after the complaint filed by FACUA, and other associations and individuals. Facebook has admitted that, according to its own estimates as a result of internal investigations, a total of 44 users would have installed directly in Spain an application called This is Your Digital Life, which consented access to personal information of such Users and their contacts. The company allegedly used the information obtained with that application to make a program intended to predict the decisions of potential voters and influence them.

 

Compartir

Este sitio web utiliza cookies para que usted tenga la mejor experiencia de usuario. Si continúa navegando está dando su consentimiento para la aceptación de las mencionadas cookies y la aceptación de nuestra política de cookies, pinche el enlace para mayor información.plugin cookies

ACEPTAR
Aviso de cookies
Optimization WordPress Plugins & Solutions by W3 EDGE